Rep. Tom Taylor Named Chairman of House Economic Development & Tourism Subcommittee on Film & Entertainment


Wednesday, January 25, 2017 (404) 656-3996

Rep. Tom Taylor Named Chairman of House Economic Development & Tourism Subcommittee on Film & Entertainment


ATLANTA – State Representative Tom Taylor (R-Dunwoody) was recently named Chairman of the House Economic Development Subcommittee on Film and Entertainment.  This subcommittee was recently created to consider legislation that will continue to promote the state of Georgia as a destination location for film, video gaming and digital entertainment projects.

“We have seen Georgia’s film industry make tremendous gains over the last several years in terms of an increased number of projects being filmed in our state, job creation and growth, and an overall economic impact to our state,” said Rep. Taylor. “The House has previously created study committees that have met during the interim to study the investments and economic contributions made to our state by this industry; however, the creation of a House subcommittee further shows our body’s commitment to ensuring that Georgia retains its status as the ‘Hollywood of the South,’ and I am excited to be named the chair of this subcommittee.”

On Wednesday, January 25, the subcommittee will visit Atlanta Metro Studios in Union City to tour this new production facility and meet with industry leaders.

Atlanta Metro Studios was conceived by Founders and Managing Partners Ed Richardson, Brian Livesay and John Rooker to address the deficit of large-scale, purpose-built studio facilities in Georgia’s existing film infrastructure by building sound stages, production offices and flex space in a secure campus environment. The first phase of Atlanta Metro Studios is a full service facility located on the site of the former Shannon Mall in Union City and includes 135,000 square feet of purpose-built sound stages, 60,000 square feet of production offices and 50,000 square feet of flex/mill space, as well as five acres of backlot. Atlanta Metro Studios also features the two largest purpose-built sound stages in all of North America.

“Large-scale infrastructure development is key to welcoming larger productions with longer production schedules that bring along even more locally hired jobs”, said Ed Richardson.  “It’s very important to remember that none of this would be possible without the leadership and steadfast support of Governor Nathan Deal and the Georgia General Assembly.  Georgia’s film economy is absolutely thriving and is experiencing a sustained boom. In fact, in fiscal year 2016 alone, the industry generated a total economic impact over $7 billion.”

“Atlanta Metro Studios is proud to join the long list of amenities that keeps Georgia on the map for producers and content creators all over the world over.  With thousands of locations, small town charm, wildly varied architecture, rivers, farms, the North Georgia mountains, urban backdrops, as well as ocean, coastal lands and the Golden Isles, our state is a terrific fit for film making,” said Brian Livesay.

During fiscal year 2016, feature film and television productions in Georgia generated an economic impact of more than $7 billion, with the 245 feature film and television productions shot in Georgia representing $2.02 billion in direct spending in the state. As a result, Georgia now ranks number three in TV and movie productions, just behind California and New York.

Subcommittee members include: Representatives Josh Bonner (R-Peachtree City), Buzz Brockway (R-Lawrenceville), Jon Burns (R-Newington), Katie Dempsey (R-Rome), J. Craig Gordon (D-Savannah), Gerald Greene (R-Cuthbert), Michele Henson (D-Stone Mountain), Pete Marin (D-Duluth), Randy Nix (R-LaGrange), Butch Parrish (R-Swainsboro), Terry Rogers (R-Clarkesville), Paulette Rakestraw (R-Powder Springs), Jason Shaw (R-Lakeland), Brian Strickland (R-McDonough), and Al Williams (D-Midway).

Representative Tom Taylor represents the citizens of District 79, which includes portions of DeKalb County. He was elected into the House of Representatives in 2010, and is currently serving as the Chairman on the MARTOC Committee. He also serves on the Appropriations Subcommittee on Human Resources and the Economic Development & Tourism, Governmental Affairs, and Transportation committees.